Dify vs AutoGPT

Two of the top agent platforms, side by side: score, setup, license, activity and what each review found.

22nd of 10 in Agent platforms

Dify

Visual LLM app platform with workflows, RAG pipeline, agents and APIs

33rd of 10 in Agent platforms

AutoGPT

Block-based builder for agents that run on demand, schedule or trigger

Dify vs AutoGPT: score parts and facts
What we compareDifyAutoGPT
Score parts, out of 100
Adoption93, widely used99, widely used
Freshness100, active100, active
Maintenance93, healthy79, fair
Easy to run33, some setup17, hard
Agent-ready45, minimal85, ready
Facts from GitHub and the README
Stars158.1k187.5k
Licensecustom license (read the license)custom license (read the license)
Last commitOct 2026Oct 2026
Last releaseSep 2026Oct 2026
LanguageNot statedNot stated
DockerYesNo
GPUNot neededNot needed
arm64 or Apple SiliconNot statedMentioned

Dify

Dify is an LLM app platform started with Docker Compose (dashboard on port 80) that needs 2 CPU cores and 4 GiB RAM. One canvas covers visual workflows, a prompt IDE, a RAG pipeline that ingests PDFs and PPTs, sandboxed agents using Marketplace tools, MCP servers or your own APIs, plus LLMOps tracing via Opik, Langfuse or Arize Phoenix. Hundreds of models work, including OpenAI-compatible endpoints.

Who it is for: Product teams building LLM apps and RAG workflows without heavy code

Strengths

  • Workflow, RAG, agents, prompt IDE and model management in one canvas
  • Hundreds of models: GPT, Mistral, Llama3 and any OpenAI-compatible API
  • Observability through Opik, Langfuse and Arize Phoenix
  • Every feature is exposed through an API (backend-as-a-service)

Weaknesses

  • Dify Open Source License adds conditions on top of Apache 2.0
  • SSO, RBAC and support SLAs are reserved for Dify Enterprise
  • Minimum 2 CPU cores and 4 GiB RAM for the Compose stack
  • Dashboard binds to port 80 by default
  • RAM ≥ 4 GB
  • no GPU
  • Docker + Compose
  • Models: OpenAI GPT, Mistral, Llama 3, OpenAI-compatible APIs, dozens of inference providers
  • port 80

AutoGPT

AutoGPT Platform lets you describe a job in plain English (AutoPilot) or wire blocks on a visual canvas, then run the agent on demand, on a schedule or from a trigger, with a dashboard of runs and costs and a marketplace of shared agents. It connects to 45+ platforms such as Gmail, Slack, GitHub and Notion. Self-hosting is free with your own Docker host and model API keys; the hosted platform is paid.

Who it is for: Non-developers and teams wanting scheduled agents over SaaS tools

Strengths

  • Plain-English AutoPilot and a drag-and-connect block builder for the same agent
  • Agents run on demand, on schedules or from triggers with a run and cost dashboard
  • 45+ integrations including Gmail, Google Sheets, GitHub, Slack, Notion, Jira, Salesforce
  • Classic standalone agent still shipped under MIT in classic/

Weaknesses

  • Platform code is Polyform Shield: no offering it as a competing hosted service
  • README has no self-host commands; the single-container installer is still unreleased
  • Windows self-hosting is manual-guide only
  • Hosted platform charges per agent run; README is largely marketing
  • no GPU
  • Needs Docker

More in Agent platforms